If you have been convicted of certain sex crimes in any state in the nation and you reside in Arizona, permanently or on a temporary basis, you must register with Arizona as a sex offender. If you don’t, you can be charged with Failure to Register as a Sex Offender (A.R.S. §13-3821 and §13-3824).
Even if you are not an Arizona resident and you are a student here for more than 14 consecutive days or employed in the state for 30 or more consecutive days and you have been convicted of certain felony sex crimes, you must register at the local sheriff’s office in the county in which you reside. Watch the video below to learn more details.
- Registering includes:
- Going to a local sheriff’s office in the county in which you live
- Informing office of new address and change in name if applicable
- Paying $250 initial registration fee
- Knowing that you will have to get a new driver’s license every year with new photo and updated information; payment of the $100 annual fee
- Informing old office and new office within 72 hours when and if you move
If you have been convicted of Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Arizona, you need to contact an experienced attorney who can help you navigate the challenges you are up against. The lawyers at The Law Offices of David Michael Cantor have successfully defended cases where someone has been charged with this crime. Learn about our successful case victories here.
Looking for a sex crime defense attorney? Call us now at 602-307-0808 or fill out the online form to get immediate help. David Michael Cantor is a Phoenix attorney and a Certified Criminal Law Specialist, per the Arizona Board of Legal Specialization. In addition, the Firm and all of its lawyers are listed in the Bar Register of Preeminent Lawyers®. We’ll know how to handle your case professionally; the majority of our attorneys are ex-prosecutors who know the system well. Contact us today.