David Cantor explains the charge of Sexual Misconduct with a Minor in Arizona:
In Arizona it is not just child molestation, it is worse. The charges involve the actual penetration of the genitalia or the anus with either a finger, penis, or tongue; or any oral sexual conduct or contact.
If the victim is 14 years old or younger it is then called a Dangerous Crime Against Children or “DCAC”. If convicted of a single charge, it’s 13 years in prison minimum, 20 years is the presumptive sentence and 27 years in prison is the max.
If there is more than one act committed, the law requires the sentenced be stacked. If that occurs, the minimum sentence is 26 years in prison. If there are three acts, it jumps up 13 more years to 39 years in prison at the minimum.
Sexual Misconduct with a Minor is one of the most serious charges in Arizona, even more serious than second degree murder. If the child is under 12 years of age, the judge only has two options; they can sentence you to thirteen to twenty seven years in prison, or life without the possibility of parole until thirty five years.
If you have been accused or a family member has been accused of these very serious charges, you need to give us a call now at (602) 307-0808 to schedule a Free Case Consultation. We can also be reached via our secure and confidential email form.
Be sure to review our sex crime case victories. When interviewing lawyers make sure and ask them for their recent case results for this crime.
Fill out the form below to recieve a free and confidential intial consultation.
Click here for important legal disclaimer.